2010 – complaisant


"You can’t start a fire
you can’t start a fire without a spark
This gun’s for hire
even if we’re just dancing in the dark
I get up in the evening
and I ain’t got nothing to say
I come home in the morning
I go to bed feeling the same way
I ain’t nothing but tired
Man I’m just tired and bored with myself
You sit around getting older
there’s a joke here somewhere and it’s on me
I’ll shake this world off my shoulders
come on baby this laugh’s on me"


Well, it’s a revival of sorts for me…
  it’s time for me to listen to some of the albums that sold big outside of the last decade. I’m going back, today..I listened to the Boss’ ‘Born in the USA’ all the way through.. for the first time.

   It’s an album I’ve flicked past many times in my binge-buying-vinyl-at-a-dollar-each days but I never picked it up… wonder if I could go back to the Auction barn and haggle it out of the grimy dude selling records there? He’s probably not there anymore.. it’s been.. nearly 10 years. :/ time flies…

   Before today/tonight I’d only heard three of the singles off it, ‘I’m on fire’ remains my favourite.

   It seems to suit my mood lately, my prediction for this year? Much of the same. And really, unless you’re one of those people who is so inclined to start a family or already have one.. after 27 years … what’s new? haha… Imagine driving a truck for 27 years, or working cash, or filing papers, typing, measuring.. whatever you do for money – for 27 years. DO you really think the 28th year is going to be fantastically different?

  Of course not, more of the same..just look at the track behind you.. unless there’s a landslide.. next year’s track will probably be worn about the same.

  So, listening to 80’s music … just reinforces that feeling. It’s.. that music you heard in the background when you were younger… but you didn’t pay attention to it. Probably were clueless to what the words were saying.. or what they were implying. Now, it’s time to go back and take a second look. Listen to Bruce, listen to Billy Joel, listen to whatever good music (I know the two I just named are kind of lame.. feel free to send me music hehe..) you like… it tells you a story sure.. but that little story/song fits into the time it’s from. And if that song still speaks to you today … have the times really changed?

  I think it’s a joke upon ourselves to say "Happy New Year" sometimes, heh.. come on, it’s just another year, like last year and the year before..and next year.. Happy 2010.. Happy 2009.. Happy 2011.. I prefer that. It’s true, the shine of a ‘new year’ might wear off after midnight but you’ve if I wish you a Happy 2010.. I mean I hope you get 365 days worth, hehe.  Cause I know there’s nothing much new about it.. the book’s all outlined.. it’s called a calendar.. you just fill in the blanks.

And I hope when I get old I don’t sit around thinking about it
but I probably will
Yeah, just sitting back trying to recapture
a little of the glory of, well time slips away
and leaves you with nothing mister but
boring stories of glory days

 
About yolandalenin

I talk a lot. ______________________________________________________________________ I write even more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

