Paul killed Richard Cory

You’ve done it now Paul!

How could you? Even hiding behind ‘Wings’ .. I blame you.

And to think you were my favourite Beatle!

Today, I was horrified to find that you did.. at least once, and it was recorded and worse – it’s still being played on youtube. Yuck.

There are few things in this world that remain scared. Select singles from Simon & Garfunkel that never sailed across radio waves happen to make up a fraction of those ‘few scared things’… at least in my mind.

Now, I’m a lazy person.. who lives in a basement. And.. is currently considering wearing gloves to type… I’ll turn the heat on after 9pm (if you live in Ontario you know about the varying rates our commy gov has set up). Anyway, not that that’s a good excuse but.. that is my excuse for not getting up, putting on my slippers, rifling through my records and playing some S&G vinyl. I turn to Youtube.. because it’s here, right in front of me. And I can find A Poem on the underground wall,   The Dangling Conversation,   Richard Cory but then what is this on the sidebar?

*Don’t click it!* (I’m not giving you the link so you Can’t click it)

It’s like a car crash only.. sounds! Worse sounds.. or sounds worse! How dare you take such an angry song of slave hating master and sing it in such a wussy way Mr. M? Paul Simon rarely sounds angry but he managed to do it in that one song based on this poem. Don’t pacify an angry Paul Simon! Simply regard with awe.

Edwin Arlington Robinson 1869-

(I love how this site actually has it written like that.. as though he’s still alive today, would love to meet Mr. Robinson)

Richard Corey

WHENEVER Richard Cory went down town,

We people on the pavement looked at him:

He was a gentleman from sole to crown,

Clean favored, and imperially slim.

 

And he was always quietly arrayed,

And he was always human when he talked;

But still he fluttered pulses when he said,

“Good-morning,” and he glittered when he walked.

 

And he was rich—yes, richer than a king,

And admirably schooled in every grace:

In fine, we thought that he was everything

To make us wish that we were in his place.

 

So on we worked, and waited for the light,

And went without the meat, and cursed the bread;

And Richard Cory, one calm summer night,

Went home and put a bullet through his head.

You can’t imagine the epiphany this discovery in a dusty library volume unleashed. I felt like I had discovered the missing link. I can’t even explain it because it just sounds dumb but, the song meant more after finding the poem (totally by accident in a huge anthology of American poetry I was going to use to press flowers or.. hurt someone with.. I don’t clearly remember) and the poem would not mean anything to me if my prophet – Paul Simon – hadn’t sung about it. Mixed media suddenly made so much more sense.

Is it odd that I keep typing ‘powem’ when I mean poem? .. oh speaking of words and sounds…

The most beautiful-sounding word in English is an article found on dictionary.com which claims ‘cellar door’ is the most beautiful phrase users picked. That is very strange and caught my eye because those two words together have a very memorable meaning to me. A sort of password. It seems I’m not alone in finding them special?

But I do not think it sounds ‘beautiful’, that’s a pretty good question actually – what does sound beautiful in English?? :S I’m hard-pressed to answer. I liked a couple of comments below the article, insidious hehehe and defenestrate is a word I don’t use nearly enough. I wish I had due cause to… and a window to throw things out of would help. :/ One can dream.

I think my Simon & Garfunkel kick is over.. and hey, I didn’t even make fun of Garfunkel’s hair once.. not once! Amazing.

The only living boy in New York “I get the news I need from the weather report”

Sad fact: That recording of ‘The only livin’ boy in NY’ is just like mine.. I only have it on 8-track. Do you remember what those are? The tapes before tapes.

Today’s lessons:

Imitation is a form of flattery unless what you’re trying to imitate is in fact perfection and you are.. not. :/

Given the choice between being respected or being feared – I would choose fear. I could get a lot more done, fear is a great motivator.. respect to a lesser extent.

Oh, and my last thought of the day is: 8 hours of Christmas music is roughly equal to waterboarding and should only be used under the same circumstances.

I think I’ve made myself clear. Cheerio!


About yolandalenin

I talk a lot. ______________________________________________________________________ I write even more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paul killed Richard Cory

  1. Monex says:

    Simon pursued a solo career that has included several hit songs including Kodachrome 50 Ways To Leave Your Lover and You Can Call Me Al.

Leave a Reply

