Open Road

A potent blend of elements (earth and water here), the sign of Taurus has brought us many an artist.

Who can say where the open road ends?
The less optimistic of you would reply “the cul de sac sign at the end”.. you would be wrong.

The road ends when you want it to.. that’s my guess.

Anyway, why am I talking about this? Well.. though I’m a bit late, May 10th is a special day. It’s like a Yolandonian holiday or sorts, it’s the day we celebrate Donovan. For any of you who don’t know Donovan (or rather, think you don’t know), Donovan is an entity of nature. Like buds in spring, a chill in the early morning of winter months or that smokey smell that arises on autumn nights.. which most of us link to bonfires or hearth.

If you have heard of Donovan before but only from his few hits (overplayed on Oldies stations and often used in 60’s period films): Sunshine Superman, Mellow Yellow, or Season of the Witch.. you may be shutting out the spirit in its’ purest form.

I, obviously, really like Donovan. I revere him. And it just occurred to me on May 2nd how enamoured I am with Tauruses! When I was a child, reading Zolar’s Star Signs I was not interested in Taurus at all and they sounded like a sort I wouldn’t want to deal with.. rather cool and bully-capable. But now I see, there’s quite a mix of warm ones.. the human form of Ferdinand the Bull if you will.. sniffing flowers and quite content to bask in the sunlight.

I looked around online to find a playlist of what many consider Donovan’s actual best album “Open Road” .. but I couldn’t find it. I guess this is so you’ll buy it.. and/or… perhaps it’s just not the sort of thing people look for anymore. If you do find it.. it’s good to listen to from start to finish. I know, it’s no fantastically complex masterpiece pushing the limits of music … but, it’s comfort. And if you think about it… it’s hard to record comfort and political music in the way Donovan does so easily. This album is the one that made me want to know him better. The song “People used to” is for the the astrology inclined, an obvious indication of his earth ruled sign … and perhaps it indicates some in my chart that I really enjoy that song and the sentiment.

           “Moonlight used to guide our way home in the dark, do you find it hard remembering? And still you people tell me life is easy to get on with, that what I’ve got so far’s nuff to be going on with… people tell me that it’s so. I don’t know anymore. I don’t know.”

One of my favourite songs, I used to listen to this a lot in high school, is Riki Tiki Tavi. And I’ll be honest, when I first heard the song I’d never heard the story (by Rudyard Kipling). I read it later to inform myself.

                   “Now everybody who read the Jungle Book knows that Riki Tiki Tavi is a mongoose who kills snakes. And when I was a young man I was led to believe there were organizations to kill my snakes for me. i.e. the church, i.e. the government, i.e. school. But when I got a little older I learned I had to kill them myself.”

Poke at the Pope is a bit edgy to me when I think of my Catholic upbringing ha..

“have you ever seen a picture of Pope Paul? Have you ever asked yourself this question: would you trust this man with your soul now? Would you trust this man, ask yourself now.”

And I will try my best to remember the words of New Year’s Resolution. But let’s start at the beginning… not sure how long this will remain up for but.. here we go, your Donovan sample: Side 1 Song 1. Changes
.. alright, so I can’t park it here for free.. I’ll redirect you.

So, Happy Birthday Donovan! And happy birthday to my blog, 6 years of mindless rants with no hope of stopping any time soon. Hoorah!

About yolandalenin

I talk a lot. ______________________________________________________________________ I write even more.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

